Welcome to Project 2002 please see the rules before joining our server

Installation Guide

[Opinion] Non-Hotzone Dungeon ZEMs are too low

General chat and server information.
PastorOfPwn

[Opinion] Non-Hotzone Dungeon ZEMs are too low

Postby PastorOfPwn » Fri May 18, 2018 5:11 pm

I've been debating making this post as I am still new to the server but I've been in <DING> since day one and I've had this conversation in guild chat and hear only support for what I am going to say.

The hot zones are an awesome concept to focus players to level together. I want to say this first because I don't want what I'm going to say to undermine this fact. If you ever doubt I think this, just look at the bold again.

That being said, I feel like I am being railroaded into dungeons that are often crowded or don't offer what I want in a dungeon. The fact that places like GukTop and other dungeons (one guildie lamented about the nerfed exp in Sirens but that's beyond my purview as a trio of 20s) are so heavily nerfed in terms of exp make them almost pointless. I'm not trying to exaggerate but the ZEM is meant to balance the risk vs reward aspect of difficult dungeons.

I think the beauty of EQ is having many viable choices to level. Yes this can mean, on smaller servers, that the population gets spread thin. I again point to the bolded statement. Hot zones can focus the population but a complete shuffling of ZEMs ultimately does more to punish those that want variety than focus the player base. I hate Kurns but I can't argue with a 150% exp mod. I did a lot more Crushbone than I also would have wanted because I didn't like Kurns. And when people PL in either location, it's too hard to exp outside of their group.